close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

City Council

Mayor Dee Grimm
The City Council is composed of a Mayor and five Councilmembers. 
Each place is elected at-Large for staggered
two-year terms. 

The Mayor is elected for a two-year term in even-numbered years.  Councilmembers are elected at large for two-year staggered terms, with two councilmembers elected in even numbered years and the remaining three elected in odd numbered years. A general election is conducted each May for these City Officials.    

Council Authority
The City is a Type A General Law City; its powers are prescribed by the Texas Local Government Code.  City Council has the authority to enact local legislation, adopt a city budget, determine policies, and appoint the City Administrator and City Marshal. 

Mayoral Duties

The Mayor is the presiding officer of Council and is recognized as head of the city government for all legislative and ceremonial purposes and by the Governor for purposes of military or martial law. During council meetings, the Mayor only votes when necessary to break a tie.                   

Mayor Pro Tem
The Council elects from among its members a Mayor Pro-Tempore who serves for a term of one year.  This individual acts as Mayor during the absence or disability of the Mayor. 

The City Council Convenes on the First Thursday of each month (unless otherwise posted)
at 7:30 pm at the Saint Hedwig City Hall.
Chambers doors open 1/2 hour before the meeting. 


MAYOR   Dee Grimm May, 2024
CITY COUNCIL PLACE 1   Dwayne Padalecki May, 2025
CITY COUNCIL PLACE 2   Russell Beck May, 2024
CITY COUNCIL PLACE 3   Caid Franckowiak May, 2025
(appointed 10/5/23)
  Doretta Murray May, 2024
CITY COUNCIL PLACE 5   John Hafner, Mayor Pro-Tem May, 2025


Mayor and City Council